London Knights hockey jerseys

Sport Tourism CIS women’s hockey: Queen’s, Western to host national championship in 2017 and 2018

  • By Tourism London

Nov. 10, 2015

OTTAWA (CIS) – Canadian Interuniversity Sport announced Tuesday that Queen’s University and Western University had been selected to host the CIS women’s hockey championship in 2017 and 2018, respectively.

The national tournament will be held in Kingston, Ont., and London, Ont., for the first time since women’s hockey made its CIS debut in 1997-98.

“We are honoured to be hosting the 2017 women’s hockey national championship,” said Leslie Dal Cin, Executive Director, Queen’s Athletics & Recreation. “On the heels of what was an exciting CIS women’s rugby championship this past week, we now look forward to celebrating the 175th anniversary of Queen’s University and the opportunity to bring the very best CIS women’s hockey student-athletes and programs to Kingston. University hockey holds special significance for both Queen’s and our community and after two decades we are delighted to host the CIS women’s championship.”

“We are excited to bring the CIS women’s hockey championship to Western in 2018,” said Thérèse Quigley, Western’s Director of Sport and Recreation Services. “Our women’s hockey program has grown into one of the top teams in the nation over the past few seasons and with London being a hotbed for girls hockey, hosting the CIS championship provides an opportunity for us to treat local fans to some of the best hockey in Canada.”

The Western Mustangs had a breakthrough season a year ago when they skated to their first OUA and CIS titles. In the national final, the Mustangs shocked the CIS women’s hockey world with a 5-0 domination of perennial powerhouse McGill. 

The Queen’s Gaels have also been among the best OUA programs in recent years. While they are still looking for their first national banner, the Gaels were crowned conference champions twice over the past five seasons and merited a CIS bronze medal in 2011. 

Before returning to Ontario for the first time since 2013, when it was held at the University of Toronto, the CIS championship will be staged in Calgary for the second straight year this winter, from March 17 to 20.

NOTE: The specific dates for the 2017 and 2018 CIS tournaments – which will be held in March - will be announced at a later date.


2018    Western University

2017    Queen’s University

2016    University of Calgary

2015    University of Calgary (Western)

2014    St. Thomas University (McGill)

2013    University of Toronto (Montreal)

2012    University of Alberta (Calgary)

2011    Wilfrid Laurier University (McGill)

2010    St. Francis Xavier University (Alberta)

2009    St. Francis Xavier University (McGill)

2008    University of Ottawa (McGill)

2007    University of Ottawa (Alberta)

2006    St. Francis Xavier University (Alberta)

2005    McGill University (Laurier)

2004    McGill University (Alberta)

2003    University of Regina (Alberta)

2002    University of Regina (Alberta)

2001    University of Calgary (Toronto)

2000    Concordia University (Alberta)

1999    University of Toronto (Concordia)

1998    Concordia University (Concordia)

Back To Top

Related Articles

Our Partners
Copyright © 2023 Tourism London. All Rights Reserved  •  Site Created by: Velocity Studio
See & Do

Activities & Attractions Close
London's Five Day Forecast
More Weather Close